Books, Book, Books! Reading on the Cheap

Priced BooksHello fabuless fashionistas, Teresa here. It is a rainy here today in Tennessee, the perfect kind of day to pick up a good book and settle in for a satisfying read. That is exactly what I have been doing up to this point today. I did have plans to go out and do a little thrift shopping , but then the thunder started, the rain came down and I decided just to be a little lazy and instead open the pages of the latest novel I am currently enjoying.

I love to read,  I like  strolling  through the bookstores and perusing  the shelves for anything that might pique my interest, (which by the way can be a myriad of things), but I have to say book store prices can be a little outrageous, especially if you are a  bookworm  on a budget.   But voracious readers don’t lose heart. It is Goodwill to the rescue!books1

In the past few months I have stocked up on some books, and have saved a ton of money by purchasing them on the first Saturday of the month, when our local Goodwill stores have their 50% off everything in the store event! On a normal day the price of books is so reasonable, $2.99 for hardbacks and 99 cents for paperbacks, but on these  1/2 price days I got them for $1.50 and 50 cents each.  I currently have a stack of 14 books by my bedside and just out of curiosity I totalled up the cost of what I would have spent if I had paid retail, and the total came to (gasp), $248.56!  My Goodwill total came to….(drumroll please)…$12.50!  What a fabuless deal!books

You can find books on just about any topic you want.  They have self-help, diet and cookbooks, fiction, biographies, science fiction, romance, you name it, you can find it!   Many times they have the same title if perhaps you and your friends want to read the same book and discuss it book club style. While it is not free like a library, it is by far cheaper than paying retail. And they are yours to keep for as long as you like, or trade among your friends. My friends and I love to do that! They also have a good selection of children’s books for 99 cents for the little ones in your lives. It is never to early to instill a love of reading!more books

So there you go, you nifty thrifty people. Get yourself to your local Goodwill or other thrift stores to get great deals on books. Still plenty of time for some warm weather reading, whether you are in a hammock in your back yard, poolside, or at the beach!  And don’t forget to stock up for those winter day reads!

Oh by the way, in the middle of doing this blog, the rain cleared so I did venture out to GW and found myself a beautiful white eyelet bedskirt for $3.99,( currently in washing machine, so no pic), and a cute off the shoulder floral dress by Tacera,  brand new with tags for $5.99!  Not bad for a random Tuesday.

dressgw

So till next time be thrifty, stay fabuless and happy reading!

Teresa

 

 

This entry was posted in books, budget friendly, Goodwill, Thrift Shopping, thrifty, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Books, Book, Books! Reading on the Cheap

  1. kirbylove99 says:

    Pretty cool!!!

    On Sep 5, 2017 6:08 PM, “fiftythriftyandfabuless” wrote:

    > fiftythriftyandfabuless posted: “Hello fabuless fashionistas, Teresa here. > It is a rainy here today in Tennessee, the perfect kind of day to pick up a > good book and settle in for a satisfying read. That is exactly what I have > been doing up to this point today. I did have plans to go out ” >

    Like

  2. Vicky Clinard says:

    You can’t go wrong with a good book. Love this blog. Vicky

    Like

Leave a Reply

